Core Committee of Gandhi Global Family (GGF) for Odisha State has been constituted under the leadership of Dr. Achyuta Samanta, Founder, KIIT & KISS. He was recently appointed National Secretary in charge of five eastern states-Odisha, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand and West Bengal. GGF is a global organization dedicated to the cause of Gandhian value and spreading the message of Gandhi.

GGF decided to appoint Dr. Samanta as National Secretary for eastern zone after a thorough verification of his background and activities. Senior office bearers of GGF also visited KIIT & KISS as a part of the process. The organization has entrusted him to appoint coordinators and constitute Core Committees in the five eastern states.

The members of Core Committee for Odisha State are Shri Dillip Shrichandan, State Coordinator, GGF; Shri Surjya Mohanty, Odisha State Head, Wipro; Dr. Bimalendu Mohanty; Shri Surendra Das; Shri Priyadarshi Mishra; Padmashree Dr. Tulasi Munda; Shri Pradosh Pattnaik, noted columnist; Shri Sasanka Chudamani; Shri Dillip Hali, Secretary, Odisha Cine Critic Association; Shri Rabi Behera and Shri Chinmaya Sundar Das. Core committee for remaining four states would be constituted soon.

The first meeting of the Odisha State Core Committee was held at KISS campus on 22nd September, 2010 in which the members decided on programme to disseminate the message of Mahatma Gandhi among youths in the schools and colleges of the above five states. The committee also decided on activities to be undertaken on the occasion of Gandhi Jayanti. The Regional Office of GGF will function from N/1-290, IRC Village, Nayapalli, Bhubaneswar.

GGF actively organizes meetings of Gandhians to deliberate on issues such as peace and harmony, eradication of social evils, Gram Swaraj, etc. Eminent Gandhian leader and Padma Vibhusan Nirmala Despande had been Secretary of the organization for a long time. At present, Shri Gulam Nabi Azad, Hon’ble Union Minister of Health and Family Welfare is the Central President, whereas Shri S. P. Verma is the Central Vice President of GGF. There are four National Secretaries for four zones of our country respectively.